

## **Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council**

Heath Protection Conference Room 570 E Woodrow Wilson Ave Jackson MS

## **MINUTES**

The regular monthly meeting of the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council was held **May 13, 2015** at 1:00 p.m. at the Mississippi State Department of Health Central Campus, Osborne Auditorium. The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved.

Howard reported on behalf of ST Elevation MI Committee. State funding for both STEMI and Stroke Systems have been approved. \$250,000 for Stroke and \$450,000 for STEMI.

- EKG are 93% vs national average of 77%
- Still slow in dialing 911. Below national average. Received 99K from Office of Medicaid for dial don't drive campaign.
- Upcoming Statewide Symposium June 30.

Avara reported on behalf of Mississippi Trauma Advisory Committee. Revising all chapters of Trauma Rules and Regulations for presentation to the Board of Health in 2016. Setting up a Diversion Task Force. Volunteers are Deschamp and Higginbothom. MSDH Legal representative will be included as well.

Motion to explore data mapping between Trauma Registry and MEMSIS Registry. Recommendation to be made by committees on next steps. (Holland/Bassett)

Galli reported on behalf of Medical Direction Training and Quality Assurance Committee/EMS PI Committee.

MDTQA – IT Clamp – Motion to approve IT Clamp for Paramedics unless Bureau finds significant barrier (e.g. training). (Bassett/Nelson; Avara Opposed). Motion to authorize MDTQA to approve future equipment questions and report to the Council. (Bassett/Yarbrough; Avara Opposed)

**PI** – Continue work on protocols. System of Care protocols in final draft form. Utilizing MEMSIS in regards to patient care and patient monitoring (e.g. Get with Guidelines, SPICE). Affords far more details to origin and tracking.

Deschamp reported on behalf of EMS Functionality Subcommittee. Reviewing Community Paramedic and Mobile Integrated Healthcare.

Wilson reported on behalf of EMS Rules and Regulations Subcommittee. **Motion to approve AreoMedical Chapter.** (**Avara/Ganble**)

## The meeting adjourned at 2:10 P.M. (Wilson/Gamble)

Present:

Rick Carlton, M.D., Chairman William T. Avara, III, M.D. Clyde Deschamp, Ph.D. Hugh Gamble, M.D. William Bassett Debbie Berry Amanda Fontaine Kevin Holland Jonathan Wilson John Nelson, MD

Ben Yarbrough, MD

Walter Grace